Demons


You know, sometimes this paranormal world I’ve attached myself to really gets me frazzled. It’s difficult to put my finger on, but I’m frequently tempted to simply disappear from “the scene” – never to be heard from again. I don’t know where it comes from, or even why – I just know that it comes on me when I least expect it.

Everybody sees demons – maybe that’s where this originates. It’s an obvious exaggeration, but if everyone I’ve met who claimed to be besieged by demons actually was, I’d be hiding beneath the alter in a monastery. There’s a demon epidemic! And silly me, I have yet to meet one after all this time and all these investigations. I’m sans diablo, and frankly, I’m not sure how I feel about that. I hate being left out of things.

Or maybe it’s other investigators. Specifically, the photos of super cool paranormal groups threaten my lucidity. You know, the ones with creatures on their matching shirts and that “I’m a rock star look.” Rock stars in search of demons, no doubt. (See, they’re everywhere.) “Fred, remember that time you wrestled with Satan?” Now don’t smile. Click. I think I may have developed an inexplicable intolerance of useless posturing. It’s just that I keep wondering if these folks are good for the field, or whether they’re what’s wrong with it.

What a crappy attitude I have, right? But it might not be my fault entirely. Maybe the paranormal tv shows are a contributing factor. The Celebrity Ghostly Fear Encounters kind of show. You know, where everyday people are dragged into the Old Mill by the local Bad Boys from the previous paragraph? Or Famous Dave recalls his summers in the Adirondacks with a family of… demons? I especially love the one where the local soccer mom photographs an indistinguishable blob and proudly announces that she alone has “the proof that ghosts are real.” God bless her. Where’s a demon when you really need one?

I swear. If I hear the word “debunk” one more time this week… In fact, there are lots of words that really need to take a short sabbatical from my life. Too much orbs, footsteps, ghost boxes, poltergeists, evil entities, and feelings. If you’re inclined to suggest out loud, in my presence, that a spirit should “make himself known” to you, you may want to duck. You won’t have to debunk the origin of that flying Mel-meter. And I say it time and time again – stop yelling, the spirits can hear you!

So, okay – we’ve established that it’s my attitude at fault here. And I’m sorry! I’m probably just going through something. But I’m not gonna quit “the biz” and take up needlepoint or southwestern cooking. I guess I just need a break from the nonsense – including the demons. I know things will still be the same when my brain gets back – the Rock Stars will still be wrestling with Satan, Demonic Infestation Syndrome will still be running rampant, TV shows that used to serve as resources will remain stupid, and paranormal buzz words will rattle through my head like some possessed game of pong, but what the heck!

I’ll still have my EVP, right? I think they make more sense anyway, and they never even mention demons. What happened to good ole investigations? You know what I mean? Am I getting old?
______________________________________________________________________
Also visit Voices Unplugged at http://voicesblogunplugged.wordpress.com/
______________________________________________________________________
Voices From Forever by Randall Keller http://goo.gl/ZBBmj Available on Amazon
There Is No Silence by Randall Keller http://goo.gl/U6KY7 Available on Amazon.

9 responses to “Demons

  1. Oh I’m totally with you, sir! Although, I have to say, asking for a sign of presence or asking for a spirit to try to manifest (if they’re able or willing) is something I’ll never waste the opportunity to do. **Ducking**

    • Please tell me you don’t order them to appear – “show yourself to me!” There are ways to make requests without being a stereotype, and without being boorish and demanding. I know you well enough to make the assumption that you can accomplish what you want without being predictable (boring) and arrogant. That’s not you! LOL Now duck!

      • Of course I never order. But not only do I think it’s a GOOD habit to make the request, I think it would be almost irresponsible not to. I’ve never been anything but respectful. I agree with Diane… like a friend.

  2. I grew up in a house with a demon. I know what they really are from daily experiences. They love to show themselves to me. I never have to ask.
    So, when I see some folks, either on TV or in person, make the demon allegation, I analyze the living. There are behavioral patterns I’ve noticed in those who jump to call everything a demon, and those folks have serious issues. They crave attention, and want others to depend on them.
    I also do EVP in the casual conversation method. It’s more relaxed, so I get more psychic input to keep the dialog going. That’s the goal: gleen as much information as possible in the amount of time given. Also, make a return visit something welcomed by the spirits.

    • Well, I certainly am not a “demon denier.” I know they’re out there and I know folks have been dealing with them since forever. And I think it would be easier to deal with extreme cases if the community would see them realistically. In all seriousness, I have not dealt with one – ever, and I’ve been around awhile. But every time out, they are a part of the equation because only a fool ignores the proper signs – I’d be an idiot not to know what those signs are. I just wish the paranormal folks would get it right and not encourage others who, as you rightly say, just want attention.

Leave a Reply

