When the Lights Go On


In case this is your first time here, I’m a full-time EVP researcher, author, and investigator. That means my interest in the spirit world probably exceeds that of the average person, and frankly, the paranormal has been very good to me. It’s opened my eyes to an amazing number of possibilities, changed the way I view my own mortality, broadened my understanding of death and the hereafter, and reanimated a dormant interest in science.

Even with all these uncommon and wonderful dividends paid, there are still two items I jealously seek. The first of those is more knowledge. That’s a hunger I share with all paranormal people – we all want to know more, and we confidently expect that to happen. That’s partly why we’re driven to do this. Each time we put our toe into the paranormal pool, we’re looking to turn the unknown into the understood.

But the second element is not as easy to characterize, and it’s new to me. So often, dealing with a deceased spirit is a momentary thing. Regrettably, our connection ends when we turn on the lights, or once the evidence has been reviewed. It’s a necessary part of investigating. Whatever relationships we superficially forge with the deceased are ultimately lacking in intellectual depth and thoroughness. They’re shallow relationships – sketchy and uncritical. Usually, the spirits we deal with are not our friends or family, but even when they are, we are charged with being dispassionate as investigators. “Just the facts, ma’am.”

Unfortunately, that may soon become impossible for me. Within the coming months I will be losing two more adult family members, and the grieving has already begun. But I am still an investigator, and the disagreeable thought that everyone I was close to will be somewhere in the so-called ether, watching, is heady. How can I possibly remain detached and impersonal? I mean, obviously there will be frequent EVP sessions, and having no little experience with the subject, I’ll be pulling out all the stops. There will undoubtably be an excess of eager and familiar spirits just over the veil, ready and willing to converse, but am I really supposed to be neutral? Non-partisan? Indifferent? How does one attempt to hail deceased loved ones without being emotional?

I think what I fear the most about the investigative part of all this, is the possibility of incorrectly labeling every voice with the name of someone familiar. I won’t want to, but the temptation will be automatic, and I will be highly motivated to identify and speak to loved ones. Will I allow every voice to seduce me into crossing that fine line between what I hope is true, and what I actually know? It will be a challenge, to say the least, but even though I’m confident I can find the hard investigator within me, that isn’t actually my dilemma. Should I have to?

All too soon I’ll be attempting to answer that question, and it will no doubt be a fierce test. To remain objective is a major requisite when dealing with anything paranormal – it’s wise. I hope to be capable of such wisdom, but we shall see… One thing is certain, however – the connection will no longer end when I turn on the lights.

One response to “When the Lights Go On

  1. I really enjoyed this portion of your blog. It’s hard to say because I know what you are feeling about giving correct validation to everyone. You don’t want to find yourself in a position of dishonesty. Part of being an investigator is giving validation to truth. I too hope to know that answer one day. Good luck with your journeys.

Leave a Reply

