Once Upon a Time…


Once upon a time, a million years ago, when I started The Voices Podcast, I forgot to wonder how on earth I would find something interesting to say every month. Someone asked me about that just the other day. She said, “I would have thought you’d run out of things to say in one or two podcasts.” That kinda hit me between the eyes, so I immediately went into self-analysis mode in an attempt to determine if she was right. Maybe I should have just wrapped it all up in a couple of episodes and moved on to something else? I mean, does anybody care enough about this subject to spend more than an hour or so?

I suppose some actually do, because I have a decent number of listeners and it seems to be slowly growing rather than declining. Well, that makes me feel a little better, but her question also made me remember how it was in the good ole days before the podcast – back before I wrote Voices From Forever – back to when it was just me and a couple of hundred lonely spirit voices. I remembered what it was that made me start in the first place.

Forget the fact that EVP are like a drug, or that sometimes it can be a freaky way to spend your time. Friends used to find it amazing and strangely weird that I wasn’t afraid of hearing those kinds of voices. They couldn’t decide if it made me courageous or stupid. What they don’t realize is that once you start with EVP, you’re hooked. Its like paranormal crack, God help me. But it’s true. If you record over and over again and never get a response – ever, then I guess you quit, but if you get results, you’re definitely addicted. It may not be an expensive habit, but depending on your commitment, it can be rather life-consuming.

All those years ago, before the podcast, I just wanted to tell the world all about this stuff. I just never thought about anything else – it became some kind of weird mission for me – something I felt I was called to do. I hoped to be a benefit to others by honestly and openly sharing my results. Lofty notions, I suppose, and idealistic to say the least, but it seemed worth the effort.

I remember telling the wife that I was almost bursting at the seams. I told her everything I learned along the way and how important it all felt to me. “All these people out there have no idea what’s going on. Shouldn’t I tell them what I’ve learned?”  Wouldn’t they want to know?

She emphatically told me that I should write a book about it. She encouraged me rather than begin the process of commitment papers, so I started writing on the subject and dove head first into all aspects of it. I thought that if I could encourage just one other person in the field through my work with EVP, then it was a good thing. It wasn’t about money or book sales.

But the podcast is a little different from writing books. Since I believed that I was able to hear so many voices for a reason, then being a potential help to others in the field was a good thing.

As a result, I became even more passionate about the subject. I bought into it full-tilt, ya know? I decided not to have axes to grind or enemies to make, and definitely no secrets to withhold. But it wasn’t totally selfless either. It would be good for me as well. I was an older person, who had some free time, and I wasn’t gonna push myself into the grave through inactivity and the inability to care about life – EVP helped me as much as I hoped my results would aid others. Even if the subject of my salvation was kind of centered around what we call death, it felt vibrant to me for some reason. Still does. It feels to be more about life than death. I can’t explain it.

But I encourage everyone out there who is fortunate enough to gather solid paranormal evidence – whether it’s EVP or something else, to share what you’ve learned. Take the time to make your evidence, ideas, and suppositions available for the rest of us. There will always be someone who is critical – it never fails, but there will be more of us who thank you for it. And you never know what good you can do, or how many others you can influence. And one never knows when influence stops. Sarah Estep, the grand dame of EVP and a true hero to many of us, is still highly influential – her work is still fascinating and educational.

And after all these years, I still feel good about it. So here I am, 39 episodes and 22 hours later – still talking. Maybe I should have been done with it somewhere in the middle of episode 2, but I suppose I won’t stop doing it until I run out of things to say. And when I do, I’ll have to take up golf, I guess. Oh no! What a scary thought that is – golf. I shudder at the thought of that!

Leave a Reply

