This Is Not Paranormal


This video is not paranormal (below). As you can see, it’s a one minute ad I put together to draw attention to my second book, There Is No Silence. And yet, every time I look at it, I am amazed at how the shadow on the right seems to emerge from practically nowhere. It doesn’t appear paranormal at first glance, but it always fools me into looking just one more time. Yesterday I looked at it again before uploading it to God knows where, and I swear I saw a face in the middle of the shadow – a face that isn’t there, of course.

I think that if I wasn’t trained properly; if I wasn’t taught the need to be positive before I open my mouth, I might have considered this clip to be worthy of serious consideration as some kind of evidence. Maybe it’s just me. Maybe it’s not half as interesting as I think it is, but frankly, I’ve seen video clips out there a whole lot less convincing; passing as paranormal proof.

I can’t imagine why someone would want to be associated with such obviously inaccurate claims. I suppose there’s a kind of notoriety that accompanies such things, so the temptation to look the other way is too great to pass up. I guess there is a need in some people to be recognized as a successful ghost hunter. Whatever!

But since there is so little provable video evidence of spirits available, we probably tend to lose our objectivity and don’t properly analyze this stuff. Some of us must get so excited that we lose all sight of reality, and therefore, lose sight of the truth. Maybe an even smaller number among the ranks does it on purpose for some kind of gain – hard to understand. I hate the thought of that, but I think it’s a definite possibility.

I can’t over-value the training I received, or absorbed, or had forced upon me. I can’t tell you how many fascinating pieces of video I possess that are no more paranormal than my old sneakers. So yeah – thank God for that training. I can just imagine how quickly the sharks would descend; how ravenously they’d feed. Some individuals may be easily and often fooled into thinking bad evidence is good. I guess it’s the same thing that causes us to wear plaids and stripes together, or mix scotch and bourbon in the same glass. Not all of us are discerning enough to tell the difference; some of us would see the shadows in my video and believe with all their heart that it’s real. But for every one of them, there are ten others out there who know better. Not just the skeptics who won’t believe in anything, but well-versed investigators who know how to determine such things. These people can spot video garbage before you can say, “This is bull#&$@.”

I may not be the best at analysis – I can accept that, but I have thanked my lucky stars on many occasions. I’m so grateful that I was raised in the field to look for reasons why something is not paranormal, as opposed to why it is. I’d break out in cold sweats in the middle of the night if I thought I offered something bogus as evidence. It’s just inconceivable to me that my name could be associated with that kind of garbage.

We all want to believe, so discerning the difference between this kind of truth and illusion is not something one is born possessing. It’s something you learn; not by looking at video clips on television, but by pouring over hours and hours of video you shot yourself, and being able to eagerly say, “this is not paranormal.

One response to “This Is Not Paranormal

Leave a Reply

