Thrill Seeking Ghost Junkies


There seems to be a need for some people in the paranormal to levee a great deal of criticism on everyone else in the field. I’m sure if you’ve been living on the planet for only slightly more than a little while, you know what I mean. It naturally starts with those at the top – the high profile, “famous” people, but it’s even more disturbing when it comes down on those of us who qualify as “small fish.” And frankly, it disturbs me, so it’s time for me to join them and vent.

We all know there are people involved in the field who have no business investigating their own shoe rack much less the home of a scared family or a concerned businessman. Not to mention the thrill seekers, whose only level of investigative participation is directly proportional to the increase in their own adrenaline. It’s too bad, but this is the unfortunate reality of needing personnel – bodies – to execute a credible investigation. There are just too many bad investigators – seasoned un-professionals, who offer nothing more to the field of paranormal studies than the size of their team t-shirt (which could not possibly exceed the size of their egos).

I am reminded of a very competent team leader who once confided that he is sometimes forced to turn down investigations because he can’t get enough team members to commit. And it also seems that the most unpleasant and vocal voices have come from these very same uncommitted ones. Likewise, I’ve seen first hand how team members assure everyone that they will be on time, only to seemingly disappear from the planet. They guarantee an appearance at meetings but manage to contract any number of diseases that very nearly choke the life out of them on meeting day.

Yes, there is no doubt in my mind that vast numbers of the so-called “people in the field” could use some culling. Unfortunately, most of the constant criticism of others that I hear comes from this unworthy rabble of insufficient participants. These uninformed, poorly trained, thrill-seeking ghost junkies have more to say about someone else’s methods than they have knowledge or experience. They always seem to be first in line to sling poison darts into the heart of anyone who succeeds. Perhaps it’s jealousy – I don’t know, but I’ll never understand why it’s easier to blast someone else than it is to buckle down and do some work.

It might be easier to accept the criticism from someone who has put in the hours, understands the field, and takes attention to detail seriously. But alas, that individual doesn’t waste his time running others down. He has too much to do and understands too well that respect is a two-way street. That individual is concerned with her own evidence and contribution to the team – not everyone else’s.

So, while we’re all sitting here being quite certain that none of us are anything like these dreadful undesirables, I think we should take stock and do a little soul searching. (No pun intended.)

Here are seven questions you could ask yourself before you open your mouth indiscrimately yet again. And I heartily encourage you to come up with a few more, but until then, these will serve as a starting point.

  1. Don’t like the guys on tv? Think they’re all fakes and phonies? Ask yourself how quickly you’ll say “yes” when they ask you to join the show.
  2. Don’t understand why so-and-so always gets to put the cameras where he wants? Hmmm… ask yourself why you don’t even know how to connect them yet.
  3. Annoyed that on investigations the team is too regimented and uptight? Ask yourself why you’re still setting off your flash 6 inches from someone’s face, and why you can’t manage to stop talking for more than twenty seconds.
  4. Think you’re a developing sensitive and that there’s not enough team focus on what you’re feeling? Well, it’s probably because no one really cares. Understand that some of us feel like strangling you, so just thank God feelings don’t count all that much.
  5. Can’t understand why you have to clear off your camera and recorder prior to an investigation? Ask yourself at what point in the evening you plan on telling everyone else that you’ve run out of space.
  6. Don’t see what’s wrong with touching a client’s private things, eating their snacks, or smoking in their living room? Really? Come on… You can’t really be as dumb as you let on, can you?
  7. Don’t see why you can’t show up inebriated or high? If your IQ ever reaches double digits, ask yourself to quit. Nicely.

 

 

6 responses to “Thrill Seeking Ghost Junkies

  1. You tell ’em Randall! I have so been there. I got so sick of the laziness and stupidity from people, that I now work alone…just like when I started out. The drama in this field is ridiculous. It is wonderful to find a sane and serious person doing it right rather than being an idiot just for fame.

    • Yes, it is. Fortunately for us, and others like us, these juvenile attitudes, by nature, tend to make their presence known quiet vocally giving us the chance to get away from their poisoness personalities.

  2. I thought this was a great post! I’ve wanted to blog and vent about this very thing on my blog, but wasn’t ever sure how to do it. Most of my venting tends to be on what I see from other goofball teams out there, usually rednecks out acting crazy, or like you said in your post, the seasoned people on the top that sometimes have a hard time making way for a younger generation of investigators with different ideas. Sometimes I don’t know if it’s that they are jealous or that I’m jealous? My own team is small, we help when we’re contacted, we don’t jump out there and beg to jump in to big haunted spots (therefore we don’t investigate every weekend), but we’re very controlled, openly skeptic, detailed (I’m way OCD), considerate, and even though there are very few “experts” in this field, I feel we’re serious and professional. With that being said, we’re a relatively “young” group and I’ve had to learn really quickly that there is still much to learn from some of those seasoned investigators. You just have to be careful… there are bad examples out there with some pretty cool websites and flashy toys.

    The only thing I might cautiously disagree with from your list is #4 on sensitives. Even though I’ve not really had a “sensitive” on an investigation yet, I’m very open to learning about and using intuition and feelings in an investigation. Sometimes I think maybe our team can prove it’s okay to be “spiritual” and “paranormal” at the same time. I don’t know. Maybe after some more experience I’ll agree with you. 🙂

    Am I still talking??

    • Welcome, Patrick.

      I don’t have anything against “sensitives.” Not really. But it seems that everyone I meet these days is a medium, a psychic, an intuitive, an empath… You name it, I think I’ve run across a couple of dozen in each category. The world can’t possibly be that full of sensitives. If it is, then I was cheated! I have issues with taking time during a serious investigation to run down the feelings of someone who supposedly knows something. That’s all. And usually, they’re wrong. Too many people feel, see, or sense things that just turn out to be a waste of time. No disrespect meant toward any of the real sensitives out there. I SWEAR!!! But then… they already know that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

