The White Shadow


Suffice it to say that there’s a video clip of a white shadow attached to this entry. I don’t know what the hell it is, but I know what it’s not. It’s not either of the two investigators in the building. I know it’s not someone who was hiding, or sneaked inside – the space is incredibly small and very intimate. Both investigators were less than 10 feet from the spot at which this static camera was aimed. I know that this white shadow made no noise while traveling over a debris-riddled floor full of standing water. And I know that this thing has somehow managed to travel approximately 60 mph.

Now! Take a look at the clip with original soundtrack in place. Take a look twice.

I’m not usually one to claim something is paranormal just because I can’t figure out what it is, and there’s nothing different about this video clip. I refer to it as a white shadow because thats what it looks like – not because that’s what it really is. I have absolutely no idea what that might be. But I also don’t know that it’s paranormal. I think the odds are pretty good that it is. I think the odds are very good that it’s a spirit manifestation of some kind. But what I think doesn’t matter, does it? What matters is what I know, and I don’t know where it was before it entered the frame or where it went when it left. In fact, it traveled about 6 feet in only 2 frames, and two frames of anything is not grounds for a paranormal label.

Then what could it be? It’s not a bug or an animal, so don’t try to tell me its a raccoon, cat or dog. The camera was more than five feet off the ground, so what appears to be the head of this shadow is also about 5 feet high. Don’t know any raccoons that big, do you? At least not really sneaky ones who don’t make a sound.  So what is it?

I’m sure you can imagine how badly I want to call this paranormal evidence. It drives me crazy because I truly think I’ve covered all the bases in trying to explain it. And yes, there were EVP recorded just prior to the video, but not a single one even hinted at the fast exit made by this white shadow.

I think paranormal investigators are better off simply offering their evidence and leaving the labels alone. Not so others can make their own determination necessarily, but to prevent the making of claims.

This is evidence – gathered at a professional investigation. And this clip just is what it is – something that happened and was captured on video. There’s no explanation, no rhyme, and no reason, but there it is just the same. Something moved past a camera – something that shouldn’t have been there, and defies our ability to understand. There is no reasonable explanation.

Still… What do you think?

7 responses to “The White Shadow

  1. This is terrific! I heard you speak about this video on your podcast. Can’t believe we’re seeing it! Thanks for the blog…this will be great!

    • Well, I can always count on you for support. (There are some others too, of course. Don’t want to forget them.) I hope I can occasionally post some evidence here. Much of it would be inappropriate and disrespectful to clients, so I won’t be posting any of that. But I think I have a few more. I better spread ’em out though. 🙂

  2. “I think paranormal investigators are better off simply offering their evidence and leaving the labels alone. Not so others can make their own determination necessarily, but to prevent the making of claims.”

    Randy,
    I agree whole-heartedly with this statement. I think that labeling tends to unintentionally muddy the waters of the field & can provoke “personalities”, therefore diluting the purpose of presenting something for intelligent, intellectual discussion and debate.

    Great clip, by the way.

  3. Well, you know, Becky – you were the other investigator in the building when this video was recorded. It happened just after I was supposedly touched by something. In fact, you can hear me suggesting that he (or she) touch me again. It was just afterward that we discovered the whole wet hair thing… LOL

    Anyway, you know better than anyone how pristine the environment actually was and that in all probability, there is absolutely no explanation for this video. But if there is no explanation, how can I just make one up out of whole cloth? We talk about this and that and as investigators, we surmise what things probably are… possibly, but when we finally step out into the light of day, it’s better to focus on what we see, hear or experience, rather than what we THINK we see, etc.

    Something can be paranormal by definition, because it is not explainable by science. And we may think we know what it is, but in the end, the only proof we have is that it exists. Anything else is always speculation. Whatever is seen on this clip will always be unknown.

    • Well, as you know VERY well, this is my favorite place & I truly miss our ‘friends’ there, LOL. And, yes, I can certainly confirm the environment was always pristine and unadulterated.

      Indeed, whatever was captured on the video is without plausible explanation. People who know nothing about this particular environment and its conditions will have to decide whether to accept it as paranormal or not pretty much on face value & without much more information than you’ve provided. Because I was one of the fortunate ones to have the experience of being there on several occasions, I will always know it was “something that shouldn’t have been there, and defies our ability to understand.”

  4. That is a really cool video Randy and I am glad you have shared it with us. I understand how you feel about labeling something as it does get in the way of the truth.
    Great job on the blog and great job on the video. I always love listening to you speak and type.
    It is always a priveldge to work with someone like you and the team.

    Margaret

Leave a Reply

